Chakras: A Beginner’s Guide To The 7 Chakras

There are seven major chakras or energy centers in our body. When our chakras are perfectly aligned with the [universal] life force energy, every aspect of our life becomes harmonious and joyful. The Reiki Practitioner can assist you in bringing balance and harmony to your life force energy.

To better understand “What Reiki Is” I would have to begin with the basic human chakra system which consists of seven chakras stretching from the base of the spine to the crown of the head.

As a Reiki Practitioner, I am attuned to the Usui Reiki Natural Healing System. If our ‘life force [energy]’ is low or blocked, we are more likely to get sick, but if it is high and free-flowing, we can more easily maintain health and a feeling of well-being. The goal of Reiki is to allow the body to be at its optimal condition for life energy to flow freely, thereby allowing natural healing properties to occur in the body.

The Reiki practitioner does not heal, make anything happen, or force the body to change. Instead, the Reiki Practitioner directs the life force energy and allows the Reiki energy to move freely throughout the body. As a result, the Reiki practitioner is not the source of healing, instead, the body “knows” how to return to its natural state of balance and harmony.

The word Reiki is made of two Japanese words – Rei which means “God’s Wisdom or the Higher Power” and Ki which is “life force energy”. So Reiki is actually “spiritually guided life force energy.”

When energy flows through the whole body it creates harmony and releases imbalances. Reiki assists to bring the chakras into alignment and balance. No chakra works independently of the other chakras, they are all part of the whole energy system. Each chakra only works fully when the other chakras are also fully engaged. They are all part of a whole.

Seven Major Chakras

The basic human chakra system consists of seven chakras stretching from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Their names, locations, and corresponding chakra colors are:

  1. Root chakra — base of the spine — red
  2. Sacral chakra — just below the navel — orange
  3. Solar Plexus chakra — stomach area — yellow
  4. Heart chakra — center of the chest — green
  5. Throat chakra — base of the throat — blue
  6. Third Eye chakra — forehead, between the eyes — indigo
  7. Crown chakra — top of the head — violet

For complete details of the seven major chakras click on the above chakras 1-7. As a bonus, there are healing affirmations included.

The 7 Chakras
December 4, 2019
Author: Lizzy

A Beginner’s Guide To The 7 Chakras
April 20, 2020
Author: Yogi Cameron

Chakra Basics

Balance your seven chakras through the power of affirmations
July 3, 2014
Author: Gaia Staff

35 Powerful Chakra Affirmations For Major Healing & Balancing
Jul 30, 2019
Author: Brett Larkin, Uplifted™️ Yoga

Root Chakra I Am

The Root Chakra is the first chakra and is associated with your primal needs for survival — food, shelter, safety — and controls your relationships with money, your family, and your physical body, and how you nourish yourself. It is important to have a balanced Root Chakra to create a solid foundation for opening all

Read More »

Sacral Chakra I Feel

The Sacral Chakra is the second chakra and is responsible for our well-being, intuition, awakening our creativity, sexual pleasure, and sensuality. It maintains the healthy functioning of our bladder, kidneys, and reproductive organs. This energy center assists in letting go, accepting change, and self-transformation in life.  The Sacral Chakra governs our hips, inner thighs, and

Read More »

Solar Plexus Chakra I Can

The Solar Plexus Chakra is the third chakra, and assists us in being confident, assertive, and supports our intuition to make decisions. This chakra is responsible for our self-esteem, boundaries, and willpower. Location: Upper part of the belly Color: Yellow Element: Fire Short Affirmation – I Can Main Functions – Power, self-confidence, motivation, vitality, and

Read More »